Meet our Marketing/DECA Students!

25 Marketing and DECA students from North Thurston High School were qualified to compete at the State DECA Career Conference. There were approximately 170 students competing to be in the top 3 for different categories and earn their spot to compete at the state level. North Thurston High School registered 32 students to compete and 24 qualified. It was an amazing competition and North Thurston DECA students once again proved their strong determination in the competition. State DECA is March 5, 6 and 7th in Bellevue Washington.

Taking 1st place and earning top spot to compete at state

                Yesica Rios – Quick Serve Restaurant

                Abigail Tait and Emma Waldon – Sports and Entertainment Marketing Team

                Isabella Matakas – Hotel and Lodging Management

                Sarah Beck – Apparel and Accessories Marketing

                Kaitylyn Mays and McKenzie Squires – Marketing Management Team

                Jenna Moe and Tauilo Mauigoa – Hospitality Team

2nd place qualifiers going on to state

                Joyti Miller – Restaurant and Food Service Management

                Madison Skavlem – Retail Merchandising

                Mauricio Morin – Entrepreneurship

                Annie Tippetts and Josephina Fueston – Entrepreneurship Team

                Fatimatou Vintou Aidara – Accounting Applications

3rd place and qualifying for state

                Morgan Opdahl – Retail Merchandising

                Ashanti Johnson and Kamielle Garner – Travel and Tourism Marketing Team

                Sung Lee – Apparel and Accessories Marketing

                Collin Edwards and Keedan Vinson – Business Law and Ethics Team

                Lillian Christensen and Suad Dirar – Buying and Merchandising Team

                Zac Sherrer – Human Resource Management

Congratulations to Zac Sherrer, who was elected as the Area 8 DECA president for the year 2020-2021 and will be serving a second term leading the Area 8 Region serving on the Washington State officer team.